Burnaby Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.71 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Rating: PG
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:32:54 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    - Forced social commentary. Every male character is full of "toxic masculinity" and therefore must be broken down into a heap of crap, whereas every woman is utterly perfect and infallible. Hint: the entire story team behind Disney's Star Wars is a group of women who specifically forbids men from joining the story team. How is this equality? Leia and Amidala were strong characters who happened to be women. Their gender was almost immaterial. That was all Lucas's doing. In Disney's Star Wars, being female is a prerequisite to being a hero, while being male is a prereq to being an incompetent toxic-masculinity patriarchal devil. Don't even get me started on the ham-fisted "capitalism is evil" casino planet nonsense. Capitalism is evil? Then how about Disney starts charging $0 admission to their stupid theme parks!

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:32:50 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie gets a 1 strictly due to the high-quality visuals. But I'd take lower-quality visual effects if it came with a better story than this pile of garbage. I created an account specifically to review this terrible movie. I'm not a bot, nor am I a Crimean spy. I'm also not a Disney employee (hint hint). I'm a very disappointed moviegoer. Here are the major problems with TLJ: - "Humor". It just wasn't funny. No one in the theater laughed at the parts which were clearly supposed to be funny. It was cringeworthy. This was a blatant attempt to copy Marvel films, and it failed miserably. - Trashing the legacy characters. Are the filmmakers so full of themselves that they think they can change how the audience feels about characters they've adored for 30 years? Luke is a murderous coward. Leia is Superwoman. Chewie is a vegan. Come on! You've been gifted one of the single greatest cinematic characters EVER in Luke Skywalker. Just show him being wise, with that signature Luke optimism, and let him kick butt with his lightsaber. But no, Luke is a man, which brings me to the next point...

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:31:17 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Worst Star Wars film ever. Unbelievable scenes "Leia Superman" with the lacking of originality: (EX: WW2 inspired bombers action, Medieval weapons with an energy setting on it). It gets worse. The wisdom and eternal fight of good and bad is…

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:30:04 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    the second act is the plot of Battlestar Galactica 1978, someone old enough to remember? This is not an iconoclastic play some trying to sale. Bad script, bad directing,bad continuity, the actors give his best but had a traitor behind the camera.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:28:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Star Wars was about the eternal fight of light versus dark and finding the balance between the two. The Last Jedi is grey, bleak, and full of politically correct social propaganda being shoved down your throat in every other scene. Honestly this movie is subversive, divisive, and extremely hypocritical. Entertainment should be entertainment, don’t politicize our escape that actually bonds everyone no matter their age, gender, ethnicity, sexuality, or religion. This movie intentionally tries to retroactively destroy everything we loved about the Star Wars movies that came before it.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:28:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    star wars ruined forever. nothing that has happened before matters. Rian J. obviously wanted to tear everything built before him down.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:27:06 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It breaks my heart to write this but this movie is truly soulless and all around awful. Absolutely poorly written and conceived. The characters are flat, weak, one-dimensional, and out-of-character. The structure is massively flawed and the plot is riddled with holes. I’ve seen every Star Wars movie in theater at least four times on top of countless viewings at home. I will never watch The Last Jedi again. It is hands down the worst in the franchise. I’m going to watch Attack of the Clones to cleanse my pallet… The filmmakers main goal across the board was to destroy and manipulate our expectations by breaking rules set in the Star Wars universe and by debunking every possible fan theory based on questions set up in The Force Awakens. If you want to play with audiences expectations do it in a standalone genre movie by playing with its genre conventions, not in an established canon. They pulled this “Tricked you / surprise card” so many times it was repulsive. Maybe try using two or three of your brilliant mind blowing disrespectful spins on fan expectations. I’ve never had such polarizing different opinions with critics as I do with this movie. I spent countless hours reading fan reviews and watching youtube reviews (positive and negative) and the problems that everyone has are consistent across the board. I’m having a hard time understanding why this would be the best critically reviewed Star Wars movie when I feel this is the worst produced… The filmmakers were more concerned with burning the past to build the future that they want. They don't care what the characters or story deserve and are trying to kill the Star Wars mythology. The original trilogy’s themes were hope, faith, loyalty, family and redemption. The Last Jedi dismantles that and it’s theme is “Let the past die, kill it if you have to.” and to disrespect everything that made Star Wars a universally beloved saga.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:21:40 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is an absolute slap in the face to real Star Wars fans. The prequels now look great in comparison. RIP Star Wars.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:21:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Comedy in Star Wars has always been present. However, this take an entirely unpolished approach. Instead of the usual one or two characters making a joke every now and again, jokes are shoehorned into nearly every scene. Every character turns into a wise-cracking joke teller. In addition to poor delivery, the jokes are borderline satire with a YOLO swagger mixed in - making this a better sequel to Space Balls than an entry in the Star Wars saga

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:19:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Worse SW movie, looks very nice but lacks any heart that makes a SW film, hence the one star. Rey is now a super Jedi with no proper training. Poe is an idiot, Finn does nothing. Leia and Luke's characters are just treated badly with no continuity with previous canon films regarding the Force, especially Luke. How they took an iconic character who's motivations we know from the previous films and then crap all over that history and expect people to accept it? I left the cinema stunned and the more I thought about what I saw the more I grew to dislike and now I absolutely hate the film. No Solo, EpIX or any future Disney SW for me.