Langley Movies

Hostiles

Hostiles

Hostiles

Score: 5.75 / 10

Director: Scott Cooper
Producer: John Lesher, Ken Kao, Scott Cooper
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Christian Bale, Rosamund Pike, Wes Studi, Jesse Plemons, Adam Beach, Rory Cochrane, Ben Foster, Timothée Chalamet
Rating: 14A
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 134 minutes

Write a Review


Hostiles movie reviews

  • 7

    Hostiles

    Wednesday, February 14, 2018 11:19:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The film set in 1892 ignored the Wounded Knee Massacre of 1890 but did take into account the great change of occurring during the end of the 19th century-for both the tribes and the Americans. Overall, the film was good depicting the difficulty of change for the populations involved.

  • 1

    Hostiles

    Wednesday, February 14, 2018 4:16:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    horribly boring

  • 1

    Hostiles

    Tuesday, February 13, 2018 6:03:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was to slow. I thought it would never end.

  • 10

    Hostiles

    Tuesday, February 13, 2018 9:45:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well done and realistic.

  • 6

    Hostiles

    Monday, February 12, 2018 12:02:05 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    TOO SLOW

  • 7

    Hostiles

    Sunday, February 11, 2018 12:59:05 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    As a Native American (Navajo), I appreciated the realism displayed in this movie. Our past historians have reported so much inaccurate representation & bias. It's heart warming to see the true humanity of us all. Well done, ahéhee'/thank you. Veda Glover

  • 6

    Hostiles

    Saturday, February 10, 2018 3:21:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I’ve never liked road pictures—including such lauded films as Easy Rider and Thelma and Louise. My distaste is generated by the nature of the genre: Road movies are invariable episodic. The characters head down the road and at each town (or valley or creek) have another contrived adventure. The movies are not so much an integrated and fleshed-out development of the characters facing a life dilemma as a collection of little scenarios laid down one on top of the other. I call them pancake movies. Hostiles is that kind of film. As a result, often the mini-scenarios are overly sentimental. Let me explain. In artistic storytelling (theatre, movies, books) there is a difference between sentiment and sentimentality. If the author or screenwriter is tugging on the reader or viewer to weep or anger without first developing the characters, we feel exploited. The scene comes across as sickly sweet—the cornerstone of sentimentality. For example, in Hostiles there is a scene between the leading character, Captain Joseph Blocker, played by Christian Bale and his wounded black corporal, performed by Jonathan Majors. The emotion of camaraderie and mutual affection is played well but to the hilt. As a viewer, we feel abused by the screenwriter—at least this viewer did. Movie buffs will recognize the storyline within the first twenty minutes of the film: Hated enemies will become the most profound friends. Okay, we get that, but most of the time the bonding feels rushed and, therefore, sentimental. Real sentiment requires time—and relevant detail—to develop pre-existing enmity and eventual kinship. Those concerns aside, the movie is diverting enough. The acting is solid, although I would have appreciated greater existential turmoil in the eyes of the lead actors as they made their transition from haters to lovers. In the end, it is an entertaining movie that—with more patience and attention to detail—could have been a great movie.

  • 1

    Hostiles

    Saturday, February 10, 2018 8:18:41 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Movie starts out great, for about 3 mins, then becomes literally the most boring movie you will ever see. I’ve never seen so many people walk out of a movie an hour in in my life. Not even worth a Bluray watch. Very disappointed

  • 2

    Hostiles

    Friday, February 9, 2018 1:32:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    worst movie ever --no plot and bloody

  • 9

    Hostiles

    Wednesday, February 7, 2018 6:55:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very good movie!