Langley Movies

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

Score: 7.61 / 10

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer
Rating: 14A
Running Time: 123 minutes

Write a Review


The Shape of Water movie reviews

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 17, 2018 12:57:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A totally different movie than what is playing right now. I totally enjoyed it and I've seen it two times.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 17, 2018 10:09:44 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is pure magic!

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 17, 2018 8:01:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is a fabulous, humanistic movie! Great cinematography, great sound track, incredible special effects, and deeply moving and emotional story-line!

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 16, 2018 8:13:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Stunningly beautiful film. Guillermo del Toro found the same muse that inspired Pan's Labyrinth. Michael Shannon is on point. His character was as grotesque and evil as Sally Hawkins' was pure and loving.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 16, 2018 7:53:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    GDT at his best! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! His best film thus far!!

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 16, 2018 7:36:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Now that is a movie. I always liked Del Toro, but he moved to a new height here...

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 16, 2018 7:33:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Shape Of Water is an emotional tale of lonely people and outsiders meeting each other, disguised as an exquisite romance between two people incapable of speech. The fact that this was made for $20 million is a testament to the producers as this looks like it would rather have cost $100 million. Sally Hawkins gives a fantastic performance, as does Octavia Spencer, and the two make a perfect mash. Richard Jenkins also served as a subtle comedic relief, that actually worked, and stayed integral to the plot. For me, personally, Michael Stuhlbarg was the stand out character. The fact that del Toro can handle a Soviet spy in such a respectful, and understanding way, without having him fall into any kind of clichés that a less skilful director would resort to. The creature effects, as is in character for del Toro, were excellent. The use of colour throughout was fairy-tale lack, giving the story a certain enchantment. While no elements of the score particularly stood out to me, I still remember in particular silent scenes, that it carried the entire emotional drive. The cinematography gave such a wide breadth of 1962 America and completely sucked one into the environment. The only error that I could point out throughout was Michael Shannon's character, who was an incredible missed opportunity, for yet another lonely person seeking real love in this world. I have never been more convinced of two character's love for each other in my life. A fantastic film by a fantastic visionary.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 16, 2018 7:31:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A modern fairytale set in a classic time with superb special effects and nostalgic setting. Great acting and story which, although plays out pretty much as expected, was still a treat to watch. Emotional and heartwarming with a sprinkle of dark, funny and "magic" moments, the film is entertaining and good throughout.

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 16, 2018 6:06:55 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I give this one 0 - that's ZERO. Yuck. I am surprised that Octavia Spencer would stoop to this.

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 16, 2018 6:04:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Sick movie and sick people who rave about it. Should be rated R for the nudity. Sex with an amphibian? Give me a break.