Langley Movies

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

Score: 7.44 / 10

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer
Running Time: 123 minutes

Write a Review


The Shape of Water movie reviews

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, February 25, 2018 1:37:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Shape of Water is the type of film you could go to high and think is perfectly normal and go to sober and think is totally nuts, it was still a beautiful love story, albeit insane. Depends on what your motivation for seeing the movie was. If you went in thinking it was a cold war government conspiracy movie then that's really not the main focus of the film so you may not be all that interested. yes, there is some back story relating to the Russians and the USA and there is some cold war tactics and it centered around that time but it's mainly the story of an alien and a human falling in love. It's mental but strangely beautiful.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, February 25, 2018 1:35:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Shape of Water is an excellent film. It is about a lonely janitor forms a unique relationship with an amphibious creature in the 1960s. Sally Hawkins and Octavia Spencer give fantastic performances. The screenplay is well written. Guillermo Del Toro did a great job directing this movie. I enjoyed watching this motion picture because of the adventure and drama. The Shape of Water is is a must see.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, February 25, 2018 12:47:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the BEST movies I've ever seen!! Wonderful and unusual story coupled with top notch performances by Sally Hawkins, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones and Octavia Spencer. Visually a stunner!! Way to go GDT!!!

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, February 25, 2018 10:47:29 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Possibly the worst movie I've ever seen. Aside from a poor plot, it could have been rated X. If there were a 0 rating it would get my vote. I can't believe that Octavia Spencer would stoop to be part of this movie.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 24, 2018 2:33:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Damn it, this film is gorgeous. A perfect example of how storytelling is better than a novel story. The direction, acting, cinematography, and soundtrack are excellent.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 24, 2018 2:22:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    My wife and I saw this movie twice, that's how much we enjoyed it. We enjoyed how it blended so many influences to create a magical world, magical characters and an interplay of stereotype and unique characters to provide insight and meaningful resonance.

  • 8

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 24, 2018 11:04:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A very good movie, I thoroughly enjoyed it although I wish they'd gone into more detail and made it a bit longer.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 24, 2018 10:37:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I believe now that the fish man saves her. Not the other way around. She was an evolved fish. The meeting was not really random because the fish man was a god. Great film.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 24, 2018 10:15:10 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    In what has now become known as his most gifted craft, Guillermo del Toro shares another facet of his fantastic ability to intertwine modern cinema with classic storytelling to create a mesmerizing picture that seems both warmly familiar and yet excitingly unique all at once. His tale is carefully articulated, molded with incredible performances from a perfectly cast ensemble, and ultimately delivers a love tale that transcends our cinema standards without the need for overbearing technologic reliance or cheapened screenwriting. This is a film that explores the art of the mise en scène in a glistening new lens, leaving us bewildered and stricken by its shape and form. Few could ever hope to capture the strangeness of such a love story and succeed as magnificently, but here we see Del Toro at his best, and with that we see pure, unfaltering beauty.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 24, 2018 10:10:30 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Essential cinema, an instant classic in my eyes. 20 years from now everyone will be saying you need to watch this (all those top 100 films before you die kinda thing!). The cinematography alone will keep this film beating for years to come. Go watch this!