New Westminster Movies

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

Score: 7.67 / 10

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer
Rating: 14A
Running Time: 123 minutes

Write a Review


The Shape of Water movie reviews

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, February 19, 2018 12:07:00 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    From the beginning to the end this fairy tale romance is very entertaining. Great performance by Sally Hawkins and well directed. Brilliant!!

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 17, 2018 8:37:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Poor contrived mess of a movie.

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 17, 2018 5:12:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the worst movies I have ever seen. A mute lonely woman having sex with a alien lizard man. I don't see anything beautiful or fantastic about this movie. People were getting up and leaving. I stuck it out thinking it would get better. It did not. If I could rate it zero stars I would.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 17, 2018 12:57:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A totally different movie than what is playing right now. I totally enjoyed it and I've seen it two times.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 17, 2018 10:09:44 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is pure magic!

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 17, 2018 8:01:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is a fabulous, humanistic movie! Great cinematography, great sound track, incredible special effects, and deeply moving and emotional story-line!

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 16, 2018 8:13:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Stunningly beautiful film. Guillermo del Toro found the same muse that inspired Pan's Labyrinth. Michael Shannon is on point. His character was as grotesque and evil as Sally Hawkins' was pure and loving.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 16, 2018 7:53:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    GDT at his best! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! His best film thus far!!

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 16, 2018 7:36:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Now that is a movie. I always liked Del Toro, but he moved to a new height here...

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 16, 2018 7:33:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Shape Of Water is an emotional tale of lonely people and outsiders meeting each other, disguised as an exquisite romance between two people incapable of speech. The fact that this was made for $20 million is a testament to the producers as this looks like it would rather have cost $100 million. Sally Hawkins gives a fantastic performance, as does Octavia Spencer, and the two make a perfect mash. Richard Jenkins also served as a subtle comedic relief, that actually worked, and stayed integral to the plot. For me, personally, Michael Stuhlbarg was the stand out character. The fact that del Toro can handle a Soviet spy in such a respectful, and understanding way, without having him fall into any kind of clichés that a less skilful director would resort to. The creature effects, as is in character for del Toro, were excellent. The use of colour throughout was fairy-tale lack, giving the story a certain enchantment. While no elements of the score particularly stood out to me, I still remember in particular silent scenes, that it carried the entire emotional drive. The cinematography gave such a wide breadth of 1962 America and completely sucked one into the environment. The only error that I could point out throughout was Michael Shannon's character, who was an incredible missed opportunity, for yet another lonely person seeking real love in this world. I have never been more convinced of two character's love for each other in my life. A fantastic film by a fantastic visionary.