North Vancouver Movies

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

Score: 7.72 / 10

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer
Rating: 14A
Running Time: 123 minutes

Write a Review


The Shape of Water movie reviews

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, February 4, 2018 2:09:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Beautifully crafted, acted and narrated movie. It depicts all the worst and best of human soul in a very well told cinematographic tale.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, February 4, 2018 2:02:05 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I thought I wasn't really going to like this film, but because it got 13 Oscar nominations how could I skip it? (Even if I was worried about a sex scene with the amphibian.) Well, I am so GLAD I went. This was a multi-layered story with excellent performances . Michael Shannon was amazing as the bad guy, as he usually is; Richard Jenkins as the gay friend (an unexpected treat--earning him an oscar nom!); Octavia Spencer playing a character you've seen her play a few times, but she won the Oscar for it so you know she nails it this time too (and got an another oscar nom). And then, Sally Hawkins, as a mute, who carries the film without saying a word, deserving of her oscar nom. The cast is brilliant. Naturally, you have to suspend your disbelief from beginning to end for a movie like this, although they try to make it as true to life as possible. Some scenes really test your ability though. That's OK---this was a great film---it checks all the boxes why we go to the movies (which is what I also said about Slumdog Millionaire.)

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, February 4, 2018 1:57:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great movie if a little vulgar and risque at times. Great work in the costume and props department, makes me want to make my own amphibious man costume. Most of the vulgarity helps drive the story, but some is just completely unnecessary. The story manages to go into some details, without overly dragging the movie along.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, February 4, 2018 1:55:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    After being released in December 2017, this film FINALLY made it around to the desolate corner of the world I inhabit, and I couldn't be more thrilled! While the trailers do glimpse the premise of the film, they also fall far short of revealing the true humanity (both heartfelt and horrifying) on display by the time the credits roll. Sally Hawkins and Richard Jenkins embody the fragility and insecurity and aloneness we all feel (or have at times felt), and their redemption in the arms of an unlikely (soul) remind us that life is about our relationships with (and treatment of) each other.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Sunday, February 4, 2018 1:53:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Storytelling at it's very best. Simply magical, dazzling with wonderful characters, acting, story and a super fantastic soundtrack. Doesn't fail on any level.

  • The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 3, 2018 9:22:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The most worst and ugly movie I have ever watched!

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 3, 2018 7:59:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is crap

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 3, 2018 4:02:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Beautiful, poetic, and romantic. Plus a fantastic and scary monster! The set design, lighting and colors are beautiful as well. Great acting all around. If you are a fan of sci-fi and fantasy, even suspense you get this here. A movie well worth seeing.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 3, 2018 1:20:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was interesting and kept my attention. Loved the creature and the feelings with the lady. WAs also had funny parts. Great ending !

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, February 3, 2018 12:23:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    "The Creature from the Black Lagoon" as only Del Toro could imagine it, where the real monster is man. Sally Hawkins and Michael Shannon are fantastic, as always. A modern fairy tale that is just the right degree of darkness. Not a boring moment. Fabulous!