North Vancouver Movies

Darkest Hour

Darkest Hour

Darkest Hour

Score: 6.8 / 10

Director: Joe Wright
Producer: Eric Fellner, Lisa Bruce, Tim Bevan
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: Gary Oldman, Ben Mendelsohn, Lily James, John Hurt, Kristin Scott Thomas, Stephen Dillane
Rating: PG
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 125 minutes

Write a Review


Darkest Hour movie reviews

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Friday, February 23, 2018 8:40:38 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Realism, excellent acting, excellent production design and costuming. Very, very honest. Best movie of this year so far.

  • 10

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, February 22, 2018 5:24:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Fabulous movie. Shows Churchill's struggle with decisions that needed to be made in Britain's involvement in World War 2. Shows his human side and his greatness, NOT an easy thing to portray. The movie is beautifully shot, makes you feel as if you could be a part of that time.

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Tuesday, February 20, 2018 12:32:07 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie! Loved it.

  • 8

    Darkest Hour

    Saturday, February 17, 2018 2:04:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I have always considered citizens of the UK as a back-boned race of people. Winston Churchill absolutely embodied this trait. I do not agree with another reviewer who said, "...sad that the movie reduced a lion to a blathering, indecisive, sad old man." He had to appear as a lion for the sake of his people; in private, he had self-doubts as we all do. Good film!

  • 10

    Darkest Hour

    Friday, February 16, 2018 3:34:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Historically accurate except for the subway scene.

  • 2

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, February 15, 2018 6:15:27 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great movie.

  • 5

    Darkest Hour

    Wednesday, February 14, 2018 9:18:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Oldham's performance was varied. Unfortunately his accent was inconsistent and in a number of places sounded like a cockney trying but failing to sound posh. It often felt as though the whole movie was an excuse to reproduce some of Churchill's famous quotes. Nevertheless, the setting and some of the drama make it worth watching.

  • 10

    Darkest Hour

    Tuesday, February 13, 2018 7:20:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Sorry. I said very well indeed and then gave only one star. I mistook the one star for being the highest rank.

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Tuesday, February 13, 2018 10:58:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie. Gary Oldham was absolutely outstanding and should get an AA for best actor. I am not sure the subway scene actually happened but it did illustrate the British people's resolve to destroy Hitler and Naziism.

  • 1

    Darkest Hour

    Monday, February 12, 2018 7:12:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very well done, indeed.