Richmond Movies

1917

1917

Score: 5.97 / 10

Release Date: January 10, 2020
Director: Sam Mendes
Producer: Brian Oliver, Callum McDougall, Jayne-Ann Tenggren, Pippa Harris, Sam Mendes
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: George MacKay, Dean-Charles Chapman, Mark Strong, Andrew Scott, Richard Madden, Claire Duburcq, Colin Firth, Benedict Cumberbatch, Nabhaan Rizwan, Pip Carter, Andy Apollo, Paul Tinto, Josef Davies, Billy Postlethwaite, Gabriel Akuwudike, Spike Leighton, Robert Maaser, Adam Hugill
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 119 minutes

Write a Review


1917 movie reviews

  • 6

    1917

    Sunday, March 1, 2020 2:29:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Movie seemed shallow on story. Theme centered almost entirely around one character with just glimpses of how he'd interact with other chacters briefly along his journey. Thought there'd more re: the history behind the war, etc. Apparently my expectations were off.

  • 2

    1917

    Saturday, February 29, 2020 11:43:48 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Nope for us even though we loved war movies.

  • 10

    1917

    Saturday, February 29, 2020 5:26:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I would suggest that those who rated this movie at one or two stars had expectations that the movie failed to deliver. It is not typical, that is for sure and shows the futility of WWI better than most. This is the real war - the grimy, uncomfortable, unsanitary conditions. Also, the tedium of wondering when, where, and how you would die. And the futility of composing the letters to loved ones at home, masking terror and trying to feign optimism. Finally, it is an absolute celebration of technical movie making!

  • 10

    1917

    Saturday, February 29, 2020 2:46:36 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Wow! There is so much you can talk about with this movie. Thereís the amazing cinematography! The bold choice of making the movie look like one take. The the multitude of period accurate costumes. The miles of detailed set dressing. The fantastic cast, from the two leads to all the major players. The incredible special effects that were so good I couldnít tell what was practical and what was CGI. Itís all tied together in an emotional satisfying and white-knuckle inducing stressful experience. And what do the people below praise it for? The fact that it doesnít have any non-straight or non-white people in it. What is wrong with people? This the worst place to get a movie reviews.

  • 1

    1917

    Saturday, February 29, 2020 1:54:36 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    No so great after all.

  • 9

    1917

    Friday, February 28, 2020 8:02:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    great movie - enjoyed it immensely

  • 7

    1917

    Friday, February 28, 2020 3:34:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Made WW1 feel much more real and relatable to me. I was impressed the film avoid political correctness and showed what the English army really looked like during WW1. I have expected in the Hollywood of today to have shown a British platoon of WW1 being lead by a African American female LT with perhaps a few gay soldiers and dreamy poets... one can never tell what will get thrown ones way these days. Anyway, the story was decent but not fantastic. I recommend the film - it was not gory like I thought it might be.

  • 7

    1917

    Friday, February 28, 2020 3:29:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Film makes you think on the stupidity of war and the trust that people put in following their governments directives even when it poorly serves the individual and nation to do so. A lesson to the young to avoid listening to the foolishness of 70 year olds in government and the places they can take 20 year old somethings into.

  • 8

    1917

    Friday, February 28, 2020 3:26:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Solid film but not a masterpiece like Saving private Ryan. Well worth seeing but I would refrain from calling it great, just a solid film.

  • 4

    1917

    Friday, February 28, 2020 3:24:46 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was not really a war movie, more of a documentary