Richmond Movies

1917

1917

Score: 5.97 / 10

Release Date: January 10, 2020
Director: Sam Mendes
Producer: Brian Oliver, Callum McDougall, Jayne-Ann Tenggren, Pippa Harris, Sam Mendes
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: George MacKay, Dean-Charles Chapman, Mark Strong, Andrew Scott, Richard Madden, Claire Duburcq, Colin Firth, Benedict Cumberbatch, Nabhaan Rizwan, Pip Carter, Andy Apollo, Paul Tinto, Josef Davies, Billy Postlethwaite, Gabriel Akuwudike, Spike Leighton, Robert Maaser, Adam Hugill
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 119 minutes

Write a Review


1917 movie reviews

  • 1

    1917

    Thursday, January 23, 2020 6:27:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Not historical at all. Just another action movie.

  • 9

    1917

    Thursday, January 23, 2020 2:15:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Amazing set pieces, cinematography, and acting.

  • 1

    1917

    Thursday, January 23, 2020 3:05:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    No so great after all but my blessing to all of the veterans.

  • 10

    1917

    Wednesday, January 22, 2020 10:10:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    filming, acting, flow of the movie well done; painted a very real picture of how war is and the effect on the people whether military or non-military. Have human beings learned anything from history yet?

  • 5

    1917

    Wednesday, January 22, 2020 12:34:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Movie was fine but.... I totally respect people who fought in the past wars and the people who are still fighting but making profit from wars? How many veterans got an extra pay check from this movie?

  • 10

    1917

    Tuesday, January 21, 2020 10:47:08 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    First I respect everyone's opinion! My grandfather fought in 1917 France as a Canadian volunteer. Yes they sat in mud for weeks / months with the enemy 100yd's away. Some never got to shoot their weapon before they got their head blown off. Most had never been far from their own street or town let alone hold a gun. The movie shows what pure hell any part of this war was. The movie story for me shows the dedication of duty, something this young "Oh I've misplaced my cell phone ... what now" generation may not understand. Yes it' was muddy, violent, stressful, rat-infested and hard to understand why they did what they did & had to do. So for all you haters that dislike this movie OK. But don't worry you can always get your fix of modern reality war by going to the new "Star Wars". It's so much more accurate and believable and may be just like the movie in the future world wars. Eh! and the war battle scenes ... No Mud. Great to see Ballin use new faces instead of mega stars like Brad Pitt & DiCaprio, in this role but he had to as the average age was 18 to 20 in this war. Well done , Great Movie. PS WW1 cost the world 40 Million lives. Star Wars ...Not Sure I think the Stormtroopers just kept getting back up! LOL

  • 3

    1917

    Tuesday, January 21, 2020 9:56:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Save your money.

  • 9

    1917

    Tuesday, January 21, 2020 8:01:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great movie

  • 1

    1917

    Tuesday, January 21, 2020 7:00:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I was expecting way more from this movie just to see the story about two soldiers delivering a massage. Almost no battlefield scenes. Germans were shooting like they would shoot for the first time,not much going on and unrealistic story...

  • 7

    1917

    Tuesday, January 21, 2020 5:38:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie does a great effort to show a HUGE event, WW I. It does it by taking 2 guys and strings a bunch of small stories together during the war featuring them. The movie does a great job covering a war so big each war area could be a movie in itself. You may get fatique following each short story shift, but focus on the setting and be amazed people could survive and realize how this war changed the world forever. Adult movie due to violence and trauma.