Richmond Movies

1917

1917

Score: 5.97 / 10

Release Date: January 10, 2020
Director: Sam Mendes
Producer: Brian Oliver, Callum McDougall, Jayne-Ann Tenggren, Pippa Harris, Sam Mendes
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: George MacKay, Dean-Charles Chapman, Mark Strong, Andrew Scott, Richard Madden, Claire Duburcq, Colin Firth, Benedict Cumberbatch, Nabhaan Rizwan, Pip Carter, Andy Apollo, Paul Tinto, Josef Davies, Billy Postlethwaite, Gabriel Akuwudike, Spike Leighton, Robert Maaser, Adam Hugill
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 119 minutes

Write a Review


1917 movie reviews

  • 5

    1917

    Wednesday, January 15, 2020 8:16:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Oh boy, I've gotta stop reading the press reviews and all the hype. This is at best - a mediocre movie - the plot line is a little too unbelievable and the acting is far from good. Cinematography is good though. 3 stars is absolute most I'd give it, but then I thought that Mexican movie" ROMA" was such a load of rubbish....maybe it's me, maybe I have no idea what a good movie is supposed to be...maybe.....

  • 5

    1917

    Wednesday, January 15, 2020 7:41:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    great cinemography

  • 3

    1917

    Wednesday, January 15, 2020 12:08:06 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    very slow and boring. not very much action

  • 7

    1917

    Wednesday, January 15, 2020 7:30:00 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Good, not great, overall movie which holds your attention. Actors give good believable performances.

  • 9

    1917

    Wednesday, January 15, 2020 3:03:34 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Both of my grandfathers served, in the Army, during WWI. One passed away before I was born and the other wouldn't talk about it. I read reviews that slammed the movie for lack of "Fighting". But you sure saw the aftermath of the fighting. This was as much of an anti-war movie as I have seen.

  • 6

    1917

    Tuesday, January 14, 2020 4:10:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Not what I expected, needed more action. The two young actors were good in their roles. Dragged and fell asleep part way through.. Yes, I understand what the movie was about but was quite dull

  • 10

    1917

    Monday, January 13, 2020 9:36:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie it showed things I never thought about. Those who didn't like it well tough because if you paid attention this is only partially what it was in the trenches. I had the privilege of meeting my grandmother's brother who was over there, it was hell. A hell you will never be able imagine.

  • 7

    1917

    Monday, January 13, 2020 9:25:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Really shows the trench war fare of WW1 with all it's quagmire of mud and the malodorous smell associated with human and horse death. How insignificant life becomes in times of war whither it's the open field Gettysburg or the jungles of Vietnam. And all man is to live in peace under a tree and in the tall grass. I notice all the people in the theatre were all senior, not one young person. Did you notice that ?

  • 4

    1917

    Monday, January 13, 2020 8:48:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It never gets where ever itís going.

  • 9

    1917

    Monday, January 13, 2020 4:18:46 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This film is amazing. Not only does it depict a day in the trenches during WWI, but it is beautifully shot and shows the basic horror of fighting for survival. I would highly recommend this movie to anyone. Please ignore the negative comments on here. Not every war movie needs to be non-stop action to convey the horrors of the actual war itself.