Richmond Movies

1917

1917

Score: 5.97 / 10

Release Date: January 10, 2020
Director: Sam Mendes
Producer: Brian Oliver, Callum McDougall, Jayne-Ann Tenggren, Pippa Harris, Sam Mendes
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: George MacKay, Dean-Charles Chapman, Mark Strong, Andrew Scott, Richard Madden, Claire Duburcq, Colin Firth, Benedict Cumberbatch, Nabhaan Rizwan, Pip Carter, Andy Apollo, Paul Tinto, Josef Davies, Billy Postlethwaite, Gabriel Akuwudike, Spike Leighton, Robert Maaser, Adam Hugill
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 119 minutes

Write a Review


1917 movie reviews

  • 5

    1917

    Thursday, February 6, 2020 11:46:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I had high expectations from all the 5 star reviews, but I could also see the point of view of the low star reviews. Parts were very well done, and other parts seemed under-developed. Will not see this movie again.

  • 7

    1917

    Thursday, February 6, 2020 9:55:01 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    they finally got it right

  • 3

    1917

    Thursday, February 6, 2020 6:18:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Slow and boring,,some parts did not seem to make sense, not what you would expect on a war movie. Good cinematography though.Not worth a Golden Globe. Money WASTED !!!!

  • 4

    1917

    Thursday, February 6, 2020 5:44:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Too many events not believable. Ending uninspired. Expected much more from a Golden Globe winner.

  • 10

    1917

    Thursday, February 6, 2020 4:31:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Beautiful movie for grown-ups. Sam Mendes always delivers as a top notch producer/director. It is our past, young lives that died for noble causes something this world should never lose sight up. Also, the realities and horror of wars on humankind.

  • 4

    1917

    Wednesday, February 5, 2020 11:21:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Some pretty ridiculously stupid situations. Great environmental effects, but the situations are just not believable. Terrible plot development.

  • 5

    1917

    Wednesday, February 5, 2020 9:43:41 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Good movie, not a true story, but some facts of the time, make it worth seeing

  • 8

    1917

    Wednesday, February 5, 2020 5:07:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved the movie. Hardly any swearing. I wish we had more movies that tell about history, even if the story line is fiction. The casting was excellent. I love that there was no unnecessary swearing or sex.

  • 6

    1917

    Wednesday, February 5, 2020 10:49:27 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The promos were the best part of this movie. I expected so much more and left disappointed. The sets were excellent, while the plot was weak. Save your money and rent it.

  • 10

    1917

    Wednesday, February 5, 2020 10:43:34 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    very real in is reveling the truth about war and how it can end a life so fast. also it shows that leaders don't know every thing about the other side they will be fighting. In the fight from 1967 to 1971.