Richmond Movies

A Hidden Life

A Hidden Life

Score: 7.57 / 10

Release Date: December 20, 2019
Director: Terrence Malick
Producer: Dario Bergesio, Elizabeth Bentley, Grant Hill, Josh Jeter, Marcus Loges
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: August Diehl, Valerie Pachner, Michael Nyqvist, Matthias Schoenaerts, Jurgen Prochnow, Bruno Ganz, Alexander Fehling, Ulrich Matthes
Running Time: 173 minutes

Write a Review


A Hidden Life movie reviews

  • 10

    A Hidden Life

    Monday, January 6, 2020 10:19:36 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Subtle and powerful writing and acting. Absolutely gorgeous cinematography and music, used consistently so as to (potentially) deepen the viewer's insights and experience. And far beyond the average film fare, A Hidden Life tells an urgent and essential story. This is a truly great film, and poignantly timely!

  • 3

    A Hidden Life

    Monday, December 30, 2019 5:51:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I agree with the reviewer below who felt it was all over the place and I couldn't agree with the main character's decision but that's a personal thought and not a review. It just felt long and you keep wondering when something was going to happen. I felt the trailer made it a more exciting movie than it was.

  • 2

    A Hidden Life

    Sunday, December 29, 2019 7:20:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Goodness what a long, slow, boring movie. I went with great expectations and found it really 'stupid' for want of a better word. Camera focused on scenery continuously for great lengths. What was that about. I clearly missed the point of the movie because there is no way I would face death and leave my family.

  • 10

    A Hidden Life

    Saturday, December 28, 2019 3:10:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the best movies of the year! I wish it was in a bigger Cineplex with all the bells and whistles, but at least it's available.

  • 9

    A Hidden Life

    Saturday, December 28, 2019 9:54:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Beautiful film. Subtle and powerful all at one. Truly a pleasure to watch. The viewer is given the task of interpreting the protagonist's intentions, and left to form one' own opinion.

  • 9

    A Hidden Life

    Monday, December 23, 2019 9:57:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I liked the fact that the producers did not try to know or interpret why he did what he did, a conscience well formed in the faith of Christ.

  • 10

    A Hidden Life

    Thursday, December 12, 2019 7:34:03 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the most moving and thought provoking films I have seen. Terrance Malik does not disappoint.