Richmond Movies

The Call of the Wild

The Call of the Wild

Score: 7.99 / 10

Director: Chris Sanders
Producer: Erwin Stoff, James Mangold
Studio: 20th Century Studios
Starring: Harrison Ford, Omar Sy, Dan Stevens, Bradley Whitford, Karen Gillan, Cara Gee, Jean Louisa Kelly, Colin Woodell, Abraham Benrubi
Running Time: 110 minutes

Write a Review


The Call of the Wild movie reviews

  • 3

    The Call of the Wild

    Friday, February 28, 2020 3:24:16 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Uncanny valley dog finds hope in drunken Han Solo while in exile in the far North. Yeah... it's that bad. Harrison Ford has NEVER been in a picture this bad.

  • 8

    The Call of the Wild

    Friday, February 28, 2020 2:45:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    the dog looked fake

  • 8

    The Call of the Wild

    Thursday, February 27, 2020 3:14:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I really enjoyed this movie, well filmed, warm hearted story.

  • 10

    The Call of the Wild

    Thursday, February 27, 2020 12:26:01 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Movie was beautiful.

  • 5

    The Call of the Wild

    Wednesday, February 26, 2020 3:55:20 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The fake-ass nature of the dog put me off early. A decent tear-jerker, but only 65/100 for Guru Bob.

  • 9

    The Call of the Wild

    Wednesday, February 26, 2020 3:38:48 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was a delightful movie. People who complain because the dogs are not "real" should also realize that real dogs could not show such emotion. They seemed real enough to keep the movie flowing and most enjoyably. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole movie.

  • 6

    The Call of the Wild

    Wednesday, February 26, 2020 9:50:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved this movie, but did not like the CGI effects. They should have used a real dog. I understand why they wanted to go this way but it was very distracting because I do not feel the "dog" really acted like a dog.

  • 10

    The Call of the Wild

    Tuesday, February 25, 2020 8:26:55 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Just loved the whole movie

  • 4

    The Call of the Wild

    Tuesday, February 25, 2020 7:22:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Anybody who saw this movie twice must have absolutely nothing on earth to do.

  • 6

    The Call of the Wild

    Tuesday, February 25, 2020 4:03:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Four stars if you taking kids 13 and under to see the film but only two stars if you are an adult. Where to begin what is wrong with the film? Perhaps first is Buck the CGI dog and his CGI friends who are all in The Uncanny Valley of unreal dogs. The CGI animals in The Jungle Book might have worked as we knew it was story book time but here you are being told by the narrator that this is a true story. There are ridiculous scenes in the film of Buck leading a sled through an avalanche into an ice cave and skidding about that you would swear the film was turning into a scene from the Polar Express when the train is on the ice. One truly feels sorry to think Harrison Ford must have spent hours acting in front of nothing and wondering how his career had come to this and speculating he was going the route of an ageing Mickey Rooney. On top of all this is the bombardment of Hollywood political correctness messages through the film that left one chuckling to think how angry Jack London would have been seeing what they did to his novel and distorted his characters. Like I said, if you have kids, by all means take them but if you are an adult going to see this than be sure you check in your brain at the front lobby and try to bring your 7 year old self into the theatre before viewing.