Vancouver Movies

Darkest Hour

Darkest Hour

Darkest Hour

Score: 6.75 / 10

Director: Joe Wright
Producer: Eric Fellner, Lisa Bruce, Tim Bevan
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: Gary Oldman, Ben Mendelsohn, Lily James, John Hurt, Kristin Scott Thomas, Stephen Dillane
Rating: PG
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 125 minutes

Write a Review


Darkest Hour movie reviews

  • 2

    Darkest Hour

    Friday, January 5, 2018 5:40:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Do we really need another movie about this mass murdering sociopath? A story of a man who stood up to hitler yes, but also engineered the mass murder through starvation of 3 million Bengali citizens. Its on record that Churchill referred to the Bengalis as 'dirty beasts' and didn't give a care for them. He diverted much needed food grains away from the Bengali people and instead used it for his troops even though his troops already had enough to eat.

  • 10

    Darkest Hour

    Thursday, January 4, 2018 5:09:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    As King George said, "Beat the buggers". I loved it. The story of a man who stood up to Hitler! I loved every minute of it.

  • 10

    Darkest Hour

    Wednesday, January 3, 2018 10:01:15 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great subject, well acted, gripping. Gary Oldman was terrific.

  • 8

    Darkest Hour

    Wednesday, January 3, 2018 4:34:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The idea that Churchill would even entertain the idea of sitting down with the Big Three to find an early solution to end the war is pure Hollywood. How about this - Casablanca and while FDR and Stalin have a tete a tete with Hiltler (yes Hitler wanted an end as well) but Churchill refused to sit at the same table to even think of such a deal. Do you wonder why Churchill was excluded from the rest of the Conference while FDR cozied up to the Russian Butcher believing he could control him. Do you wonder why the relationship between Churchill and FDR was never the same after Casablanca?? Otherwise a great movie led by Hollywood's greatest actor of the times.

  • 2

    Darkest Hour

    Wednesday, January 3, 2018 3:20:16 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A bad movie about a murderer

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Wednesday, January 3, 2018 11:37:59 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie from beginning to end. Gary Oldman is outstanding as Winston Churchill and he should win an Oscar for his performance. **5 star movie**

  • 9

    Darkest Hour

    Tuesday, January 2, 2018 9:04:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The best film I have seen in a year. We need more films like this. Gary Oldman was out standing and I was impressed with the entire cast. I had to drive, however, for over an hour to see this film since our local galaxy theatre does not seem to be showing it. It was advertised with trailers, but it is not playing and not on the list of films "coming soon". It was well worth the drive however. I actually have seen it twice.

  • 10

    Darkest Hour

    Tuesday, January 2, 2018 4:04:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A pleasure to experience a movie that paints an historically accurate overall view of events in England, in spring of 1940. Whether Churchill ever entertained thoughts of peace talks with Hitler, we shall never know. This is history, dramatized at its best. A must see.

  • 1

    Darkest Hour

    Tuesday, January 2, 2018 7:51:13 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is historically wrong. It portrays a criminal that sent millions to thir death as a national hero. Nothing could be farther away from the truth.

  • 2

    Darkest Hour

    Tuesday, January 2, 2018 7:48:42 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A small movie about a big crook