Vancouver Movies

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

Score: 7.72 / 10

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer
Rating: 14A
Running Time: 123 minutes

Write a Review


The Shape of Water movie reviews

  • 7

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, December 28, 2017 11:34:48 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Alexandre Desplat's score knocks it out of the park here. Though all the elements are good, acting, make-up, story - the score is a real standout. A very unusual film to say the least. We didn't know what to expect going in and were pleasantly surprised. Not a film I would normally venture out to see. Octavia Spencer was also really funny. Sally Hawkins was good too, have only seen her maybe once before.

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, December 28, 2017 7:54:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Why are all the positive reviews the same people? It was boring

  • 8

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, December 28, 2017 10:17:13 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Why do all of the one star reviews here sound like the same person submitting the review? Are there points being rewarded or something? I watched it yesterday, and though it's not a perfect film (not many are), I really enjoyed it. I like Del Toro's style and visuals. It's not for everyone, clearly, but it's not a bad movie by any means.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, December 28, 2017 9:59:44 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    7 GG noms is a good indicator, poor dear. No one is saying it's the only indicator. A movie should be made out of your bitterness. A dark comedy, no doubt.

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, December 28, 2017 9:43:37 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    7 Golden Globe nominations, yeah that's a reason to say a movie is good. Signed LA LA LA land oh wait the winner was MOONLIGHT. This is one of those movies people watch and then they think they are pedantic, transcending, and gregarious.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Wednesday, December 27, 2017 9:45:23 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    "OMG who likes this crap" - apparently a lot of people do, hence the 7 Golden Globe nominations it received along with the 2 SAG nominations among the many. I think I'll take their comments a bit more seriously than yours. The film was fantastic.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Wednesday, December 27, 2017 9:31:08 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A Del Toro masterpiece! So glad to see him do another picture of this quality again. The group I went with loved it. We all want to see it again, and couldn't stop talking about it afterwards. Visually it's just so fantastic, and what an original story. Totally refreshing after the many clunkers that have been out this year.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Wednesday, December 27, 2017 2:07:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    A gem. Possibly a masterpiece.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, December 25, 2017 6:35:29 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The best movie in 2017 !!!! ??????

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, December 25, 2017 3:37:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    both imaginative and meaningful