Vancouver Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.71 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Rating: PG
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:32:19 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I really wish they would have finished out episodes 8 and 9 before trying to reset everything. The last point I will make is that the writer/director seemed to go out of his way to subvert every expectation. While I like some surprises i wish they were tied to a better story. I couldn’t escape the feeling that I was being trolled throughout this movie. You expect to find out about Rey’s past? Nope!. You expect to find out how the first order came to be? nope! you expect to find out more about Snoke? Nope You expect Admiral Holdo to act rationally and explain the plan so people know they are not just waiting for a slow death? Nope. Who are the Knights of Ren? Nope! You expect Luke to not be a bitter old man who doesn’t care that his sister is in grave danger? Nope! You expect that Finn will retain some of the character growth he had from the last movie? Nope! You expect Finn to go out and sacrifice himself to save what is remaining of his friends? Nope! You expect Poe to not act like a complete ass twice? Nope! You expect this film to make sense given the existing canon? Nope!

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:31:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Many people have said there is precedent for Luke going into exile because both Yoda and Obi Wan did the same. I don’t buy this. In this film Luke just gives up and goes into exile to die. Obi Wan went to Tatooine to watch over Luke and try and make sure Vader/Palpatine didn’t find Luke. Yoda went to Dagoba to bide his time and see if there might come a way to undo what had been done. From my perspective they both still carried a spark of hope. Luke just gave up with little explanation as to why. Are you freaking kidding me!?!? ?The next point I will talk about is the overall tone of the movie. The writer seemed to go out of his way to make sure we knew the that all the stuff from episodes 1-7 does not matter from this point on. There were some serious nihilistic undercurrents here. He went out of his way to say it doesn’t matter who Snoke is. It doesn’t matter who Rey’s parents are. The Jedi origins and history don’t matter. By the end of the movie the resistance is basically decimated with 1 ship and about 20 people surviving. I get that Disney probably wants to reset things so they can take the series in some different directions but did they have to go out of there way to tear down just about everything that came before to do it?

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:30:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    While there are many critiques of some of the issues with this movie I will focus on a few that really ruined it for me. The 1st and biggest for me is the portrayal of Luke. in this move we are supposed to believe that Luke just gave up and went to some island to die because Ben Solo started to turn to the Dark Side. This basically undoes all character progression we see for Luke in episodes 4-6. This was just a leap to far for me and really pulled me out of the movie. i probably could have gone along with this plot point if they had spent some time developing this point. Instead all we got to support this was a few short flashbacks and some very short exposition. Maybe they could have cut the pointless Canto Bight stuff and spent some time here). One possible way this could have been down would be if Luke had been married and Ben Solo killed his spouse. I probably would not have liked this but I could have gone along with it.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:28:50 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is utter trash. It completely takes the concepts and plot points originally set up in the first movie and just chucks them over their shoulder. Seriously, the result of Rey holding out the light saber to Luke ends in him just chucking it away. Where to start with this steaming pile of shiet. First, Rey is apparently nobody special. Her parents were junkers who traded her for credits then drank themselves to death and are buried on Jakku in a poppers grave. Snoke is nobody special as he is easily killed by Ben Solo aka Kylo Ren. These are two things that are set up to be major plot points in the first movie that are just chucked out the window in this new movie. The whole point of the movie is killing the past and letting go of your heroes so that "new ones" can rise. **** garbage. This is just an excuse for lazy writing and a very clear "progressive" agenda. There's the scene on the Resistance capital ship where the new admiral doesn't tell Poe her plan which results in him mutinying and setting up a plan of his own that fails because Fin and his new love interest Rose (who is beautiful by feminist standards), are completely inept. Why didn't the femnazi purple haired admiral just tell Poe her plan? I mean if you are planning to stealthily abandon ship and flee to an old uncharted Rebellion base, maybe that's the kind of thing you would want to tell the crew? So that, you know, they can prepare to abandon ship? Anyway, Fin and Rose go to the casino world, complain about capitalism, get arrested, break out, free some animals but not the slave children (Like WTF! you free the freaking animals but not the SLAVE KIDS!!!), partner up with a criminal they met in prison who later betrays them (big freaking surprise). . .

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:25:05 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    leftist rot. allow me to free associate: lazy writing. cultural decay. socialist praising. capitalist damning. regurgitated FX/ideas. no ben burtt. misandrous. anti-white. destroys everything built nicely by Force…

  • 10

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:24:19 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved the droids. All the creatures. No too much the soundtrack.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:23:16 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The New Republic is completely gone. Luke’s Jedi Order is a failure. An evil empire reigns across the galaxy once more. Everything our heroes achieved in the Original Trilogy was ultimately for nothing. Luke, Leia, and Han deserved better.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:21:14 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    All the previous "1" reviews were right on the money. There are so many bad plot devices, meaningless diversions, bad character development, poor "physics", bad acting, bad EVERYTHING, that this should not even be considered a part of the Star Wars saga. They should issue an apology and try again.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:21:01 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This film is an utter betrayal to the entire Star Wars mythos. It literally destroys everything we came to love before it and proclaims a new order based on nothing. Luke as a character was utterly betrayed. Whatever potential there was in any of the characters from TFA has been turned to **** Rian Johnson should be tarred and feathered and run out of town, but I'm afraid this is the direction that hag Kathleen Kennedy is determined to take things.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 9:20:04 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The worst Star Wars movie by far. And also the least 'Star Wars-y' Star Wars movie. The creators have destroyed the soul of Star Wars. Credit to Mark Hamill for speaking out and admitting that Luke Skywalker is not the Luke Skywalker that he knew. Sadly, this will be remembered as the movie that knocked Star Wars from its pedestal among fans. The few memorable moments are only memorable because they are utterly cringe worthy. The new characters are abominations. I can only presume that Disney/Lucasfilm only employ cowards or Yes Men nowadays, because that's the only explanation as to why no-one behind the scenes spoke up and pointed out to the senior people at Disney/Lucasfilm what an absolute atrocity they were creating. The soundtrack is great though, so it gets one star for the soundtrack.