Vancouver Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.16 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Rating: PG
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, August 12, 2017 8:44:18 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved this movie! The action was so realistic! It gave the viewer an excellent idea of how horrifying it must have been to be caught on this beach waiting for rescue. One of the best war movies I've seen.

  • 1

    Dunkirk

    Friday, August 11, 2017 2:59:20 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Such a small movie. I saw this movie in iMAX and it was a waste of money. The miracle evacuation of 300,000 was shown using a few boats, fewer planes, a ship, and a few soldiers. Everything looked cheap and small, more like the evacuation of 300. My favorite reviewer talked about boat guy, plane guy, and soldier guy - no character development, and little story. Small in every way.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Friday, August 11, 2017 12:36:06 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    An outstanding film well grounded in what actually happened at Dunkirk during World War II. Tremendous production with very realistic scenes. A significant cinematic achievement and a worthy tribute to those who fought and suffered there.

  • 7

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, August 10, 2017 8:10:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A tensely ominous movie about a harrowing WW II situation done stylishly and without excessive blood and gore. And such was not needed as what you couldn't see visually tugged at your vivid imagination, creating a intense range of emotions. Sure, it switches back and forth at times in three different character perspectives--from those stranded on the beach, those coming to the rescue on the sea and the fighter pilots in the air--however, this created a wide view of how those involved came together to help those soldiers stranded on that beach in France and facing certain death from enemy dive bombers and U-boat torpedoes. I do agree the soundtrack at times sounded too futuristic and some dialogue was hard to make out. None the less, this movie reminded me of the older WWII movies from the 1960's--like Battle of Britain--which came after the events of Dunkirk. Go see it if you want to see an overall well done and quick take on this historic event using three varying visually stunning and emotional perspectives. You won't be disappointed if so.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, August 10, 2017 10:29:02 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Best war film ever made. It's not a straight up action movie and doesn't have any superheroes in tights, which is the only explanation for some people giving it a poor review. If you like gritty dramas and/or war films, it's an absolute must-see in theatres.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, August 9, 2017 11:07:17 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    go watch spiderman

  • 6

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, August 9, 2017 1:18:02 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    As with pretty much all Christopher Nolan movies, the production values were outstanding. Great cinematography and technically sound to be sure. The problem was with the story itself and especially the lack of character development. I had no real investment in any of the characters. I also found the 'suspense' not really that suspenseful as a result. The soundtrack, while decent, never took a break for the entire movie. I can't comment on the historical accuracy so I'm keeping my review to just the entertainment value.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, August 8, 2017 5:54:51 PM | (age group: 50 or over.) | M

    Dreadful storytelling, poor characterisation, hammy dialogue- written by a 10 year old. Ready to leave after 20 mins- wife enjoyed it! Annoying score, wasted evening

  • 3

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, August 8, 2017 2:27:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Boring, not based on historical events, but rather possible historical scenarios. Ending sucked!

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Tuesday, August 8, 2017 9:04:29 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Telling the story is so important. The rescue of the British Expeditionary Force changed the course of history.