Vancouver Movies

Moonlight

Moonlight

Moonlight

Score: 5.16 / 10

Release Date: October 28, 2016 - Toronto
November 4, 2016 - Montreal, Vancouver
November 11, 2016 - Halifax, Ottawa, Winnipeg, Edmonton, Calgary, Victoria
Director: Barry Jenkins
Producer: Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner
Studio: Elevation Pictures
Starring: Trevante Rhodes, André Holland, Janelle Monáe, Ashton Sanders, Jharrel Jerome, Naomie Harris, Mahershala Ali
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 110 minutes

Write a Review


Moonlight movie reviews

  • 1

    Moonlight

    Sunday, July 9, 2017 1:01:31 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Because there are so many garbage movies currently playing I took a chance on this one. Hey, it won Best Picture. It has to be good, right? Wrong. Slow, boring, gratuitously far fetched (come on, who questions a 6 yr old on his sexuality? No one!) bad acting - this turkey has it all. REALLY BAD. The Academy gave this Best Picture if only because they felt they had no choice but to pick a movie, any movie, having mostly black actors in it. Mission accomplished. Unless you are hopelessly sympathetic to all things gay (I am not; I could care less) AVOID AT ALL COST! For those who gave this dog 5 stars ( or more than 1) - grow up.Its no one's fault you were born confused. But misrepresenting this as 5 star is wrong on so many levels. Shame on you.

  • Moonlight

    Saturday, March 18, 2017 5:31:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    WOW. ...a powerful movie,great acting...absorbing. ...

  • 10

    Moonlight

    Saturday, March 18, 2017 5:37:41 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Coming of age is even harder when you are gay, black and your mom is a crack addict, but Chiron finds unlikely help in Liberty City i the 90's, Miami's toughest section.Wonderful acting and sensitive in its look at homosexuality where it is least tolerated.

  • 9

    Moonlight

    Wednesday, March 15, 2017 3:55:42 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I liked the brilliance of the director's creation of intimacy. I loved the characters. I loved the castin and acting. Th only thing I had rouble with was bwlieving thaqt the last actor in the grown-up phase of the protagonoist's life was the same physical person as the younger actor's in the boy's earlier life. You just have to foret the physical differences. I think one of the greatest scenes was the young man and his mother,her honesty in acknowledging her neglect of him. this was a compassionate andf intimate movie with great character portrayals and emtional depth..

  • 2

    Moonlight

    Monday, March 13, 2017 9:17:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Terrible movie! Do not waste your time or money. Cannot believe it won best picture!

  • 1

    Moonlight

    Monday, March 13, 2017 8:12:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    DISLIKED ALL OF IT! WORSE MOVIE OF THE YEAR!!!!!

  • 10

    Moonlight

    Monday, March 13, 2017 10:47:09 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The kind of movie that opens your eyes. Amazing cast. Music that reflects the atmosphere beautifully. Stunning to watch this one particular child grow up. I was thrilled it was recognized at the Oscars.

  • 2

    Moonlight

    Saturday, March 11, 2017 10:40:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I didn't like this movie at all it really confussed me. I wouldn't see this movie any more I didn't think it was good at all.

  • 5

    Moonlight

    Saturday, March 11, 2017 5:24:47 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A good movie but it doesn't deserve to be the golden globe winner for best picture

  • 10

    Moonlight

    Saturday, March 11, 2017 9:59:21 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is what film and characterization should aspire to be. Making ones way towards self realization under very difficult circumstances. And a really great score.