Vancouver Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.16 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Rating: PG
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 6

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, July 27, 2017 11:22:52 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Good movie BUT no story to begin with so u do not get to know the characters. Therefore u have no feeling one way or another for the main characters. You are just thrown into the middle of the war at Dunkirk and view the action but nothing about why they are in Dunkirk or what Dunkirk was really about. I and my friends were left liking the movie but not as much as we would have had we been invested a bit in the characters.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, July 27, 2017 9:56:42 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is one of the absolute best World War II movies. The real story, so intense and real. No need for romance or any other silly Hollywood made up stories. Loved the beginning to the very end. On the edge of our seat during intense. We cannot thank our war veterans enough!

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Thursday, July 27, 2017 7:48:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    People expecting to see big Hollywood style melodrama should stay home. This is how it happened, all the longs endless hours of waiting for the troops on the ground, the night time surprise U-Boats attacks on defenseless ships as well as the slow paced daytime pounding of the Stukas which seem to come in just in time when you think you're finally going to escape from hell. The real thing, no bells and whistles, no magic heroic moment with the big fanfare. Come and feel their fears and anguish hour after hour, minute after minute, until they were finally... home.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, July 26, 2017 9:04:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    To the morons who fell asleep Go watch a J-lo movie

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, July 26, 2017 9:02:57 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie was great! Tom Hardy always gives 110%. Yes, it can be a bit slow in spots, but this is a true story. People who don't know the history, back story leading up to Dunkirk will most likely not understand what's going on, and probably won't appreciate how good this film really is.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, July 26, 2017 8:25:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Put yourself in any one of those situations and imagine the anxiety and terror. This movie is the closest you will ever want to get to being desperate, afraid and alone. I saw this movie in IMAX and it was so moving and so real and so horrible. At the same time Dunkirk was such an amazing victory from total defeat. See this movie and imagine you are there!

  • 8

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, July 26, 2017 7:01:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The only complaint I have about the movie is that if you're not familiar with the start of WWII, or know how the Germans were able to cut off the Allied forces, then you will have no idea what's going on in the movie. The forces retreated to Dunkirk, were surrounded by advancing German forces, and cut off by the sea. This is a great movie if you take 10 minutes to review youtube videos on the subject before going. Harry Styles role could have been performed by a turnip.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, July 26, 2017 6:17:01 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The story was great but the movie was phony. At least a half dozen last second life saving moments. The background music was terrible. Just listen to it and you will surely agree. This is the worst musical score that I have evr heard. I expected so much more from this movie. Save your money stay home. I even hung around to see if there were any redeaming bloopers to see. There were none.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, July 26, 2017 5:28:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    To all the people that didn't understand and to the one guy that fell asleep. If your old enough to know a veteran from WWII ask him or her if they didn't understand war or were bored ,fell asleep on a beach or field in France under fire. If you don't understand, stay at home and hide under your bed when the next war starts.. Or call in a Super Hero.

  • 3

    Dunkirk

    Wednesday, July 26, 2017 1:14:33 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Did not depict hundreds of boats to rescue..should have had more personal real stories of rescuers to stranded British and French troops!