Vancouver Movies

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Dunkirk

Score: 6.16 / 10

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Fionn Whitehead, Tom Glynn-Carney, Jack Lowden, Harry Styles, Aneurin Barnard, James D'Arcy, Barry Keoghan, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy, Mark Rylance, Tom Hardy
Rating: PG
Genre: Thriller
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Dunkirk movie reviews

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 23, 2017 9:35:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A dramatic portrayal of one of the most sobering yet inspirational moments in WW2. At what other time in history have civilians rescued the military in order to defend a nation?

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 23, 2017 9:03:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Dunkirk was amazing. It was an immersive epic, It reminded me of a Stanley Kubrick film. It's definitely gonna get some oscar nominations. It's not your traditional war movie, it doesnt follow a bunch of soldiers fighting a winning battle, its a defeat, an evacuation. First off: there's not a lot of dialogue, and yet it's super effective, the amazing visuals tell the story. When there's shooting, it's really loud and menacing, which enhances the experience. The sound of the planes are awesome, gives your heart a jolt. When the german planes attack the troops on the beach, the sound of the approaching plane is just electrifying; It's like you're actually there. And when the bombs hit, plus the music really made you feel the despair. You could even hear the sand and water flying when a bomb went off. The music really made you feel hopeless when things were grim, but near the end when a bunch of civilian ships approach, plus the music, it feels hopeful and even gives you goosebumps. The movie is told through 3 different perspectives: The land, which is in a week, the sea, which is in a day, and the air, which is in an hour. All 3 perspectives connect here and there, kinda reminded me of pulp fiction, reservoir dogs, or cloud atlas for the perspectives intertwining. The visuals are stunning, especially one scene involving one of the british pilots  landing his plane; the sunset makes it just beautiful. There was one scene on a sinking ship that had a really cool camera angle. To sum it all up, Dunkirk is an ambitious epic that puts you in the boots of the soldiers, sailors, and airmen in a dark but hopeful stage of WW2. If you're going to see this movie, I'd recommend watching it at a theatre, it only enhances the experience.

  • 10

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 23, 2017 5:25:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent movie. Not an American spectacle with flags waving and cheering. Real people. Loved it.

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 23, 2017 1:00:55 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very disappointing could not connect with any of the characters. Story line bounced around all over the place. Epic failure.

  • 6

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 23, 2017 7:52:53 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Not sure I liked this film. Found it boring. Was waiting for the action that the soundtrack seemed to suggest was coming, but alas never came. It's visually stunning, Nolan packs it with detail, but it just didn't do it for me.

  • 4

    Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 23, 2017 3:39:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Missed opportunity. Such a great story very poorly told. The way they jump back and forth through 3 main perspectives makes it annoying to follow and hard to become attached or empathetic to any of the characters. Some great actor but nothing special in the acting. One of the worst attempts of giving one a sense of the magnitude of the material. And the director is usually so good. Missed opportunity.

  • Dunkirk

    Sunday, July 23, 2017 1:13:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    While it was a beautifully shot movie, it felt like a war documentary with no narrative. You never got to know anyone, learn anyone's back story... nothing, I mean I don't think we really got any of the soldiers names.

  • 9

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 11:04:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Seeing the same moments in time from different perspectives was a wonderful technique.The emotional impacts of these events varied with the people who were in them and where they were.Shifting the point of view was brilliant.It really shouldn't have come as a surprise since it was introduced at the beginning of the film.

  • 1

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 10:15:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Maybe a war buff would like the special effects. I personally thought it was boring. It was more for a history channel movie than the movie theatre.

  • 2

    Dunkirk

    Saturday, July 22, 2017 10:06:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I have no idea who would rate this 5 stars. Very boring. A real snoozer from beginning to end.