Vancouver Movies

Jojo Rabbit

Jojo Rabbit

Score: 8.9 / 10

Director: Taika Waititi
Producer: Carthew Neal, Chelsea Winstanley, Taika Waititi
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Scarlett Johansson, Taika Waititi, Sam Rockwell, Rebel Wilson, Alfie Allen, Stephen Merchant, Roman Griffin Davis, Thomasin McKenzie
Rating: PG
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 108 minutes

Write a Review


Jojo Rabbit movie reviews

  • 10

    Jojo Rabbit

    Friday, December 6, 2019 12:06:05 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the most thoughtful films to have come out in years. The real message that saves Jo Jo in the end is his mothers which comes back to him that 'Love is more powerful than hate - it is the most powerful thing in the world'. The last half of the film is where the deeper question arises which is: Not if Jo Jo is capable of loving others and the world but are they capable of loving him. A great Holiday film and a thoughtful meditation on Germany in the 1950's when Germans had to try to figure out who they were after two decades of being lost to self. BY far the best film I have seen in the past 5 years.

  • 6

    Jojo Rabbit

    Tuesday, December 3, 2019 8:00:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I donít know how I feel about this movie. My parents went through this during the war and it wasnít funny. I know many Germans didnít agree with the third Reich but couldnít speak out for fear of death. One way of dealing with pain is with humor and I think this film is avoiding the pain with humor.

  • 10

    Jojo Rabbit

    Tuesday, December 3, 2019 1:28:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A wonderful film that reminds one to trust ones inner compass and never to forget to be counterculture one has to take a stand the opposite of ones media and the larger trends where society is moving towards. Jo Jo is everyones story as we ultimately are the only caretakers of our soul. Jo Jo Rabbit is a reminder that unless we are adding to the love and freedom in the world we are creating a cage.

  • 9

    Jojo Rabbit

    Monday, December 2, 2019 1:09:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Such a well written movie with great characters. Whenever Taika Waititi puts out a new movie, its one I have to see.

  • 10

    Jojo Rabbit

    Friday, November 29, 2019 11:26:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you want to laugh and cry in a film this is the film you need to see. The acting and story is beyond anything I have seen in years.

  • 10

    Jojo Rabbit

    Sunday, November 24, 2019 5:47:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The narrowest of genres. A wartime comedy. But, through humour you see absurdities much more clearly. Those absurdities being a mindless devotion or a fanatical obsession. This film demonstrated those qualities with a perfect note.Taika Waititi has made another wonderful poignant film.

  • 9

    Jojo Rabbit

    Saturday, November 23, 2019 2:45:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I cried at the end of the film it was so powerful. The story reminded me so much of a friend of mine named Alfons Heck who passed away over two decades ago but had been one of the leads of the Hitler Youth and spent much of the rest of his life touring with a Jewish friend of his who survived the camp. Heck himself lived much of this story though Jo Jo is a composite of many voices and makes it clear how odd the late 40's and 1950's where in Germany when the emerging German young adults had to make sense of their ideal of self. If Alfons Heck were alive today he would ask every parent to take their son or daughter to this film.

  • 10

    Jojo Rabbit

    Saturday, November 23, 2019 2:38:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I wish everyone could could see this film. The best film I have seen in many years and a film that will be considered a classic. Jo Jo is a bit of all of us, often born into a world where our beliefs and ideology is stamped on us by our community and where we are pushed and shoved to forward an ideology that more often or not is not one in our best interest. We see this everywhere to today from the police battling students in Hong Kong to the highest levels of the Fbi and the NSA where the Jim Comey's and James Clapper's spin narratives that are untrue. Jo Jo in this story gets the name rabbit because his own moral compass points in another direction and he learns to run like a rabbit until the end when the rabbit finds he is trapped and his own hole is being invaded and where the rabbit finds his courage and awakens from a bad dream into a nightmare but one where he finds his own footing and lives a life that is his own and not someone elses. Perhaps the greatest point of the film is a strong message to the young is to find your own compass in life and don't borrow somebody elses and trust your gut and higher self and be prepared to be the one who swims against the current because to be counterculture in anytime is to oppose the state and it's media and educational institutions. Jo Jo rabbit will make a fine novel and a play and hopefully very soon I will be able to enjoy both. A must see film for young people.

  • 9

    Jojo Rabbit

    Saturday, November 23, 2019 2:21:06 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Best movie of TIFF

  • 8

    Jojo Rabbit

    Friday, November 22, 2019 7:31:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Not having knowledge of the story before settling into my seat, I was at first sick to my stomac during the training scene of those beautiful, innocent youngsters. But then the beauty of the story unfolded and the true meaning of love; putting your life on the line for others. Not a commonplace event. Hitler, needless to say, was a hoot. Finely told saga we are all too familiar with. Let's hope for an end to war and a resurgence of acceptance.