Vancouver Movies

La La Land

La La Land

La La Land

Score: 6.56 / 10

Release Date: December 25, 2016 - select cities
Director: Damien Chazelle
Producer: Fred Berger, Gary Gilbert, Jordan Horowitz, Marc Platt
Studio: Entertainment One
Starring: Emma Stone, Ryan Gosling, J.K. Simmons, Rosemarie DeWitt, John Legend, Jason Fuchs, Finn Wittrock
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 128 minutes

Write a Review


La La Land movie reviews

  • 7

    La La Land

    Monday, January 9, 2017 9:08:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was a fun musical but it missed being a grand musical like those decades ago. The actors seemed to just miss the connection between the characters. The acting was OK but not particular great. Some of the dance scenes were unique and creative; the storyline was a little confusing initially. The best part was toward the end of the movie when Ryan Gosling's character takes a moment to re-live the romance with Emma Stone with a few seconds of silence before playing "their song" on the piano. It was touching and nearly took my breath away.

  • 10

    La La Land

    Monday, January 9, 2017 6:55:40 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Ethereal and complex

  • 4

    La La Land

    Sunday, January 8, 2017 11:19:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Boring boring boring????????

  • 3

    La La Land

    Sunday, January 8, 2017 10:44:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    My wife and I both fell asleep because the plot was so shallow and slow moving. When the plot finally got going a little bit, about 90 minutes into it, it flashed forward five years. The music and dancing were good, which is the only reason we did not rate this movie a 1-star, but it did not have a happy ending. It lasted over 2 hrs., but it could have easily been over in less than 90 minutes.

  • 4

    La La Land

    Sunday, January 8, 2017 9:38:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Choreography and singing not good enough. No comparison to old Hollywood musicals. Very disappointing.

  • 10

    La La Land

    Sunday, January 8, 2017 9:07:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A return to the old-fashioned Hollywood musicals. Never meant to be more than simple eye-candy enjoyment. If you want to be depressed or can't suspend the disbelief enough to get a kick out of a song and dance number on a freeway, this isn't the movie for you. It's entertainment, pure and simple.

  • 9

    La La Land

    Sunday, January 8, 2017 8:23:38 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    A beautiful romantic-musical!! Loved it!

  • 2

    La La Land

    Saturday, January 7, 2017 1:06:02 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Previous review said I walked out after 5 minutes. I meant to say 45 minutes. Sorry.

  • 1

    La La Land

    Saturday, January 7, 2017 1:04:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Walked out after 5 minutes. The opening should have been telling when a phony freeway dance scene opened up during a traffic jam. Both main characters were card board cutouts of what was to be a boy meets girl love story. The purist jazz pianists could manage to improvise effectively on Xmas songs to make them sound like anything but a Target store shopping score... The girl was vapid and dull.. Finally could take anymore. But then -- The only musical I've ever really liked was Three Penny Opera.

  • 6

    La La Land

    Friday, January 6, 2017 4:07:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Didn't live up to the hype. It's only fair.