Vancouver Movies

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Score: 5.71 / 10

Release Date: December 15, 2017
Director: Rian Johnson
Producer: Kathleen Kennedy, Ram Bergman
Studio: Walt Disney Pictures
Starring: Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong'o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, Kelly Marie Tran, Laura Dern, Benicio Del Toro
Rating: PG
Genre: Action
Running Time: 152 minutes

Write a Review


Star Wars: The Last Jedi movie reviews

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:06:51 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you're going to be honest then call this Star Wars Rebooted or something so true followers like me can make a choice and stay way. This is just dishonest, play-to-the-gallery filmmaking backed by a machinery that knows a billion bucks is out there to be made But here's the truth. Episode 9 is going to struggle at the box office, now that the trust and love for this saga has all but been put to waste.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 4:06:25 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I had to keep myself from throwing up in the theater. They did the impossible. They created a character, named Rose, who is worse than Jar Jar. I seriously hope Rian Johnson will never get to direct aka ruin another movie in his life. This feminist SJW Kennedy person has to go too. By far the worst SW movie.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:56:03 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Unfortunately this was not a film film for me a 40 year old fan of the originals. The out of place humour belittled characters and destroyed any dramatic tension. Luke Skywalker's character transformation was badly conceived and his conclusion unsatisfying, why go to the cinema to see that ending. There were numerous plot holes, one of the worst lead to the whole Casino world story which gave me flash backs to the Phantom menace. The way the force was handled in the movie didn't align with how it worked in earlier films. I simply wasn't entertained. Won't be rushing to see more of these.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:53:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The worst movie in the franchise. I don't know how a film that is actually entertaining, do such disservice to what came before it. This movie is now a parody of itself, and it's too bad that the same director has been promised his own trilogy to make before this film even came out. Blaming the fans for your mistakes is a bad move, and many such as myself will not be returning to this franchise. Good job Disney, you whiffed a slam dunk.

  • 1

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:53:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I'm not laughing at the bad one liners from Last Jedi; I'm laughing at how this movie has plummeted, demonstrating how the merit of a film is not based upon ticket sales. Too much drek to go into detail, but let's just say anything Disney labels Star Wars is an amateurish knockoff of George Lucas' genius. The deconstruction of cherished characters and social justice pandering is enough to make a Tusken Raider vomit. My suggestion is to ignore the generic piffle that is Disney and savor the Original Star Wars Universe.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:53:25 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Symbolism in this film is NOT subtle: Luke tossing the lightsaber behind his back? Thats Rian's contempt for everything thats gone before. Luke squeezing alien sea-cow teets? Thats Disney milking the franchise dry. All that chat about "killing the past" and the Fascist/Communist book-burning? Thats Kathleen Kennedy reappropriating SW's burnt out husk to serve political agendas. Utterly DISGUSTING piece of film that will only be more despised with age.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:52:02 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I've been reading through the criticisms of "The Last Jedi" and I must say that I agree with a lot of the opinions. There are way too many plot inconsistencies and ham-fisted attempts at social commentary in this film for it to actually be entertaining. I found myself so distracted by the forced representation of current political issues that it completely failed to teleport me to a "long time ago in a galaxy far, far away...." For me, the absolute deal-breaker comes when ghost Yoda burns the ancient Jedi texts, citing that they're not page-turners and that Rey has all of the knowledge that she needs without them. If we remove the thin veil from this metaphor and apply it to our own world, you'll see that Master Yoda is really burning the Holy Bible and claiming that it is not necessary. I can't be a fan of this franchise any longer.

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:50:53 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I think the theme of this movie is "Kill the Past" which I think it did effectively. At first I thought it was okay but if I'm being honest this is just a bad movie. It will never be what I want it to be--which is fine. It is fine if Disney wants to take the franchise in this direction but I will step out the side door. Good luck

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:47:27 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Star Wars has become so inundated with feminists and SJW's that the franchise is dead. Thanks, Disney. It's movies like this that make me wish Metacritic offered negative numbers in their rating scale

  • 2

    Star Wars: The Last Jedi

    Monday, January 29, 2018 3:46:17 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Rian Johnson should go back to school. He doesn't know how to write a script. He doesn't know anything about pacing as a director. Kathleen Kennedy should be fired. She was handed a golden goose and is butchering it. She's also responsible for hiring (now twice!) Rian Johnson. Nonsensical story; zero character depth or development; devoid of drama; deus ex machina galore; Mary Sue hero poser; entire subplots and characters rendered pointless; completely unaware of its place as the middle chapter in a trilogy; completely unaware of the universe it lives in; the lowest form of corporate pandering at its worst, perhaps even worse than what Nashvill has done to country music. Luke Skywalker's soul was destroyed. The Force was turned into a maguffin. Disney killed Star Wars.