White Rock Movies

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

Score: 7.45 / 10

Release Date: December 08, 2017
Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer
Running Time: 123 minutes

Write a Review


The Shape of Water movie reviews

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Monday, July 23, 2018 10:13:33 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved it! You donít have to look alike to show kindness or affection; you donít need to express yourself with words but actions; these are a couple of lessons taught in this movie. I wouldíve preferred to see less blood but we also know how much abuse and suffering there is in our current world!!!

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, May 10, 2018 9:53:49 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Best picture? Really? I don't see it. Never mind that the woman loves a fish, there's not even a gradual evolution of the love story. She meets him one day and they run away together the next. I get that it's an allegory about immigration and acceptance and all that, but the movie itself still has to be good. Quirky doesn't automatically equal good. Weird for the sake of weird doesn't automatically equal good.

  • 1

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, April 28, 2018 3:21:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Why is the monster basically retarded Abe Sapien? It looks like him, it eats eggs like him, it has empathic abilities like him... It just doesn´t talk. What an "originality"!

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, April 6, 2018 3:49:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Del Toro - the master of plotholes and weirdness! :D

  • 3

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, March 31, 2018 2:47:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Tried to like this movie - - - I really, really did. But honestly, I didn't. And it certainly wasn't Best Picture material.....but then 2017 was not a great year for movies, so maybe it looked good compared to so many others......

  • 8

    The Shape of Water

    Wednesday, March 28, 2018 10:54:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Good movie, although it didn't quite measure up to the hype. The reviewer below need to take a deep breath though. Trump isn't hiding under your bed, buddy.

  • 7

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, March 24, 2018 4:00:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is a critique of the USA -- the alienation/marginalization of those who are "different" by race, disability, species, sexual orientation, etc and what is revered in the USA -- the White man (Trump) and his power to subjugate, belittle, torture, marginalize anyone he pleases. It is frightening that such a psycho is seen as the "Man of the future". In the end love between two marginalized "others" triumphs.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, March 24, 2018 10:05:11 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Seen it 3 times already, it's that good! The visuals, the acting, the story .... so unusual and so pleasurable. An excellent addition to my bluray collection.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Saturday, March 24, 2018 9:58:59 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Best movie of 2017 by miles!! Congratulations on the Oscar for Best Picture - well deserved!!!

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Tuesday, March 20, 2018 4:48:55 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Brilliant as always with Guillermo del Toro. Everything about this movie is epic from the storyline to the character development and costume design. One of the many successes we've come to expect from del Toro's repertoire.